California will not recognize other state’s gun permits.
Applying For A Permit In California?
Get in contact with your local Chief of Police or Sherriff for more information. Online applications are now available in most counties. The permit is valid for 2 years and will cost $100.
California is a may issue state, which means it will distribute a permit if the subsequent conditions are met:
- Being of good moral character
- Having a “good cause” for getting a permit
- Being a resident of the county you are applying in
- Having completed the mandatory training course
Locations that are Off-Limits Even With A Permit
- Gun shows or other events – you are not allowed to carry a firearm and its matching ammunition at the same time
- Guns are banned in any Governor or constitutional officer’s office, any legislative office, and the state Capitol
- Voting spaces
- Private and public schools, college campuses
When Carrying A Concealed Firearm You Will Not
- Drink alcoholic beverages
- Carry in any locations where the primary purpose is the distribution of alcoholic beverages for on-site consumption
- Be under the influence of any drugs, prescribed or not
- Refuse the surrender or reveal of any weapons on your person if requested by a peace officer
- Interfere with a peace officer trying to perform their duties
- Carry a weapon that is not registered on your permit
- Carry a firearm in times or circumstances not listed on permit
A Permit Is Not Required When
Anyone over the age of 18, who has not been barred from owning a firearm, is allowed to keep and carry a loaded firearm in their home, place of temporary residence, campsite, or private estate owned by that individual.
With a permit, you can carry at:
- Roadside rest areas
- In any automobiles
- State parks
- National or state forests
The state of California will not stop a US citizen, over the age of 18 from transferring a firearm capable of being concealed as long as it is unloaded and in a locked container.
Non-concealable firearms are not required to be in a locked container. However, it needs to be unloaded when being transported.
Registered Assault Weapons
Assault weapons that have been registered are allowed to be transported between specific locations. They need to be unloaded and in a locked container during transport.
Open carry is not permissible in the state of California.
Large Capacity Magazines
On June 30, 2017, an injunction was released for the part of the law that barred the possession of large capacity magazine in your home. Still, the manufacturing, importation, and sale of large capacity magazines are still banned.
Large capacity magazines are outlined as a visible ammo feeding mechanism that has the capacity to accept 10 or more rounds.
What Is Considered A Loaded Firearm?
- In the state of California, a firearm is considered loaded when the firearm and the compatible ammo are in the immediate possession of the same induvial.
- A firearm is also considered loaded when a round is attached to the firearm in areas including in the chamber, magazine, or an attachment, etc.
*** The information and details listed above pertaining to California gun laws are meant only as a reference point. California’s firearm and ammunition laws are often changing and we advise that you consult with your local law enforcement agency or attorney before making any gun or ammunition related decisions.